Let the Women Play!

WOMEN’S PRO HOCKEY!!!!! Alert every women’s hockey fan you know! It is true and it is happening. No, it’s not in Minnesota just yet but hopefully it will be soon! The National Women’s Hockey League is starting this October with four teams on the east coast. This is a huge step forward for women hockey players everywhere. If this league is a success this could mean hockey can be a career for women and not just a hobby. They can have their names printed on jerseys, have bobble-head nights, hear thousands of people scream their names and cheer for them.

To many of you, this may not seem like a big deal, I mean NHL players have this feeling every day but just think.. it took over 97 years for the NWHL so become a thing. Yes, the NHL was founded 97 years ago, actually there was a league prior to that too but focusing on the current one, the NHL is close to hitting 100 and it took  that entire span of time to get women’s hockey?! Really people, this isn’t the 19th century anymore. I know as a woman hockey player I may seem biased but I love hockey and would have loved to have the chance to be a pro, I mean that is all I wanted to be since I was 6. Now, little girls can actually have that dream and live it! Am I jealous? Hell yeah! But it’s great, I can’t wait to watch my first women’s pro game on TV.

Will this league succeed? Maybe, maybe not but history is being made! Are the women getting paid the same as pro men? No, but who cares right now? They are getting paid to play hockey! Yes, many people may think, aren’t you for equality? Yes, I am but just as NHL players had to work their way up to the pay they get now, the NWHL will have to go through the same growing pains. I just hope the league stays around for future generations. Hockey is such a great game, everyone deserves to have a chance to play. I personally hope the NHL gets behind this league if they haven’t already and support them! Not only would it be great to have that backing but the NHL could get some more women fans on their side as well.

Now I do have to mention those naysayers out there that still exist, who think hockey is not a women’s sport. Well, I have news for you, it is an all gender sport, hockey doesn’t judge who plays it so why should you? If you don’t like it, don’t watch but leave the players alone. They have a right to pursue their passion as much as you. I’m going to keep this post a little short since the season just started but I hope this league is able to go steady and strong! Good luck to all of those NWHLers! Yep it’s a thing! Oh and the Wild are 2-0 😀

HOCKEY ROCKS!

0

Leave a Reply

