A name is a name right?

Actually, wrong. Very very wrong according to some people. This article may offend some but it is not meant to. I am writing this post after seeing a news post about this subject and the fact I was in the middle of one of these arguments in college. So this post has to do with the recent uproar over team nicknames. UND.. formerly the Fighting Sioux.. the school I have been going to for the past three years was right in the mix of this controversy and subsequently ended up giving up their beloved nickname.

I was against the name change along with many of my classmates.. it was never meant to be offensive.. it was a source of pride and tradition. Students were proud to be the “Fighting Sioux” a name that was synonymous with its rich hockey culture and tradition. Before each hockey game there was even a tribute to the Fighting Sioux name and what an honor it was to be a part of such a tradition. Students believed so much in it they would recite the lines from the video.. it was something that united the students. I know I got to the point I just wanted a decision made.. I didn’t want to hear anymore about it. I was always against the name change but I just wanted it to end because it was tearing the school apart and it had people taking sides even though they all went to the same school.

To me.. a name for a sports team is just that.. a name. Something that can unite fans and bring them together. The Washington Redskins are currently under fire.. but why? No one is intentionally being offensive with this name.. it is meant to be a cool name.. something that can unite not tear apart. I could understand it if people were purposely trying to be offensive but come on.. it’s a sports team. Are you going to go after the Fighting Irish of Notre Dame??? I’m sorry but there has to be a line drawn.. not everything can be taken as offensive if you start taking away names one by one.. what’s next? Where do you draw the line? What is not considered offensive? Everyone can be offended by something if they really think about it but most don’t, they are concerned with their own life not over a sports team name. I will admit I am sensitive towards my beliefs and I get offended easily sometimes but I try to be open-minded. This topic has really stretched my open-mindedness pretty thin.

I have tried to look at the other point of view but if it were me.. I would think it was pretty damn awesome to have the name of say, my tribe as a team name.. you would be known nationwide and people would be proud to have the same name as you.. nickname or tribe name. They are proud of the name! That should mean something. What people don’t get… sure you can be offended by a name but what happens when you take the name off a jersey? Nothing. The name may be off the jersey but you can’t take it out of the fan’s mouths. Sure, you may take it away from the school… but it will always remain with the fans. You can’t ban them from saying it.. unless they are part of the media or a sports team that is directly connected with the school. To me, it’s ridiculous.

If these names were so offensive.. why were they even allowed to become team names in the first place? Why do you care so much now? The names have been around for longer than I’ve even been alive. I get if it’s just a name, why care so much whether it goes or stays? Well, to those that are fans of the sports team, it is their identity they can identify with the name and take it as their own.

Well, I think I have stated my point as much as I can without it becoming repetitive. What do you think? Are you on the side of the name change or are you against it? Why? This subject really makes you think. Hockey rocks and Go Wild!

Leave a Reply

