Music, music, music

Since music is such a huge part of my life I figured I should devote at least one blog to it. I have learned so many things from music.. it’s endless. I overcame one of my worst fears because of music… mainly marching band but that is music. Having such a great thing in my life has really kept me going. When I quit hockey I wasn’t really sure what I was going to do with my life because hockey was my life. Well, thanks to band… I had somewhere to turn and I devoted all of my energy to that instead which turned out to be an awesome decision. Learning to play clarinet was difficult but it taught me self discipline and to truly believe in myself because I could do it. I also had awesome teachers that helped me along the way and made sure I kept at it.

After my first season with the Buffalo marching band I made a promise to myself that I would march until I couldn’t.. meaning being a super senior. Well senior year I wasn’t sure if I could do it or not.. and I wasn’t sure if I would go on the trip or not as well. Well, I thought about going a season without marching and I was lost.. I knew what I had to do and I also remembered that promise I made to myself back when I was a rookie. I knew what I had to do and I told them I would march and it was the best decision I ever made. On that trip I was able to overcome the biggest fear of my life.. homesickness.. and it helped me with college right around the corner as well. Without band I’m not sure what would have happened to me but I know I wouldn’t be the person I am today. I learned to be a leader which also helps me in the job I have now.. to take charge and get done what needs to be done when others won’t. It also helped with my dedication to things and my work ethic.

I owe a lot to band and it is an absolutely amazing thing that I would recommend to anyone and everyone that is thinking about joining band. It may not be everyone’s thing but it is fun and it will help with a lot of things. It was my escape when I lost the only other thing that was an escape for me at the time. To this day I am proud to call myself a band kid and I always will be. Hockey still rocks!

Leave a comment