The beginning

So this will be a first for me and since it’s the first Wild game of the season I figured why not try it before the season gets going and I totally mess up this attempt. I am going to try and have this blog go throughout the whole game. So I am starting now before the game even starts and will try to have commentary on it throughout the game and end with how I thought the game went and publish it at the end of the game. I hope everyone got that but oh well.. if it works it works if not.. I’ll try and do game summaries instead.

So.. The Wild are facing the Colorado Avalanche in their first game of the 2014/2015 season and this game is also their home opener which for the Wild.. is a good way to start at least according to stats. The Wild are 11-0-2 in their home openers.. meaning they haven’t lost in regulation in their very first game at home. The Wild have typically been good at home in the past so it’s not really a surprise to see their stats like that. Well I’m going to leave my pregame post at this spot and I will pick it up at the beginning of the game.. or if I have anything quick to add 🙂

The Wild’s line-up will look like this:

Parise, Grandlund, Pominville

Vanek, Koivu, Cooke

Niederreiter, Haula, Coyle

Carter, Brodziak, Zucker

Defense:

Brodin, Suter

Scandella, Spurgeon

Dumba, Folin

Goaltender:

Darcy Kuemper

The puck has dropped and everything is underway at the X including the brand new.. GIANT scoreboard and when I say giant… I mean Giant!! The thing goes blue line to blue line. Pretty neat.. haha. So I thought typing during the game would work but I guess I will have to add in between periods.. The first just ended with the Wild up by one thanks to a goal by Jason Pominville with Grandlund and Suter getting the assists. The goal was a beauty and will hopefully propel the Wild throughout the game. I was very impressed by what I saw between the penalty kill, power play and regular strength I really didn’t notice a lot of weakness, instead I saw a lot of improvement and a really good working team. They are working very well together and it’s really great to see. I hope the second period is as great as the first was.

Well the second period definitely met my expectations and the Wild added 4 more goals making the game 5-0. Parise got one of the goals along with Suter as well. Kuemper is doing a great job.. a little shaky to me but it’s the beginning of the season so everyone is a little jittery. The Wild look like they know what they are doing and are doing a fantastic job. I am very proud and am looking forward to the third.

The Wild held on in the third and won the game 5-0.. yep a shutout! Great way to start the season. Other than penalties there was nothing really that concerned me 😀 They played a great game and held pace the whole night. It’s off to Denver for the Wild now as they take on the Avs once again in Colorado! I’m going to end this one right here and I will hop back on sometime either tomorrow or Saturday for the next game! Hockey rocks and go Wild!

Leave a Reply

